Reviving the AAUP at UM Ann Arbor

In response to the erosion of shared governance at the University of Michigan, nationwide challenges to academic freedom, and concerns about UM’s COVID-related policies, the UM Ann Arbor chapter of the AAUP was revived on August 23, 2021, with members voting in a new set of bylaws and officers.

(For UM AAUP members: The new bylaws are based on the AAUP‘s basic template.)

The elected officers are…

  • President: Kentaro Toyama, W. K. Kellogg Professor of Community Information at the School of Information and current SACUA member.
  • Vice President: June M. Howard, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of English, American Culture, and Women’s and Gender Studies, LSA.
  • Secretary: Valerie Traub, Adrienne Rich Distinguished University Professor of English and Women’s and Gender Studies, LSA.
  • Treasurer: Rob Sulewski, Lecturer IV, Program in Technical Communication, College of Engineering.

Terms last for three years.

UM affiliates who are interested in knowing more about the AAUP or the UM chapter are encouraged to contact (emails will be forwarded to the officers).